Today I lost 60 reputation point and the message just read "user removed". Does that mean that a user was taken off the system and that when that is done the persons votes get removed from the system? Seems like I lost a lot of point this way.
I found a clue on meta SO in a comment posted by an SE employee:
In other words, although there are good arguments for not removing votes, we are told there are significant programming difficulties in making that happen.