Among the 10k privileges is the privilege to cast delete votes. I did a search of meta.SO and found lots of discussion of delete votes but nowhere is it made clear how to cast them. I thought it would just be a little button to click, similarly to close votes, but I see no button. Are delete votes made by notifying a moderator?

Using this question as an illustrative example, I would appreciate it if anyone can point me in the right direction. I suspect that the functionality only appears for 10k+ users.

Edit: I've noticed that, for example, on this question, that there is a delete button. Both of the questions I linked to are closed, so why does one have a delete button while the other doesn't? Does the question need to be closed for a particular period of time before the delete option appears?

share

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Your first link (to 10K privileges) explains that "You must wait for a question to be closed for 2 days before you can vote for deletion." It goes on to say that this waiting period is eliminated for "trusted users," which currently are those with 20K reputation.

share
    
Yes, I just read that, sorry for my sloppy reading of the page. I was just about to delete the question but I can't now that there's an answer. Please moderator-delete it (or not, if you think the question is useful). Thanks, @whuber. –  Macro Jan 7 '13 at 14:48
1  
I am glad you are interested in reviewing questions. I see no problem with keeping this thread open. –  whuber Jan 7 '13 at 17:56

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .